Aware

“Always be aware of your surroundings” is something my mom has told me over and over again. Always be aware of your surroundings. I am always aware of who and of what is around me. When I first started college, I was taught not to go out at night alone. To always have someone with me, to be aware. I am aware of how the world sees me differently because of the color of my skin or my sexuality. I am aware of the things that make me different. I am aware of how I am perceived. Awareness is something that I grew up knowing very closely. I think it is important to be aware because you know what is going on around you, whether that be locally or globally.

via Daily Prompt: Aware

Leave a Reply

